Business Scoop

Consumer NZ Energy Retailer of the Year Finalists

Press Release – Freeman Media

Electric Kiwi, Flick Electric Co. and Powershop have been named as the finalists for the retailer category in this years Deloitte Energy Excellence Awards.PRESS RELEASE – 25 July 2018

Electric Kiwi, Flick Electric Co. and Powershop have been named as the finalists for the retailer category in this year’s Deloitte Energy Excellence Awards.

The Consumer NZ Energy Retailer of the Year Award, sponsored by EDMI, is assessed based on firms’ performance in the annual Consumer NZ energy provider survey, consumer-related initiatives and innovations introduced in the past year, and their customer growth during that period.

Electric Kiwi is finding success with its digital-only platform, and has now created an app that customers can use to track their power use. This has seen a marked increase in customer engagement and hour of power savings.

Flick Electric Co. is enhancing its retail model to help New Zealanders become more engaged with their energy use by responding to market prices. In the past year the retailer introduced Volt – a tool that allows customers to smooth their bill payments.

Powershop has launched new propositions to increase its appeal to a wider customer base. This includes Get Shifty – a time-of-use offer for customers, allowing them to benefit from shifting consumption. This has resulted in a growth in Powershop’s customer numbers, sitting at its highest in five years.

The winner of the retailer category will be named at the awards dinner on 22 August, to be held at Cordis Auckland.

With over 660 tickets booked to this year’s event, it is shaping up to be bigger than ever before.

For more details on all the finalists and to book your tickets to attend visit

The 2018 Deloitte Energy Excellence Awards finalists are:
Innovation in Energy Award
Sponsored by Gentrack
Contact Energy – Virtual Power Plant
emhTrade – The transactive energy platform
OMV New Zealand – Ground breaking structural remediation for the Maari platform

Community Initiative of the Year
Sponsored by PEPANZ
BP New Zealand – BP and Surf Life Saving: In it for life. Together.
Flick Electric Co. – #GiveAFlick
Genesis – School-gen
New Zealand Aluminium Smelter – Ten years of partnership: NZAS and Southland Girls’ High School

Young Energy Professional of the Year
Sponsored by ABB
Daniel Leeman – New Zealand Oil & Gas
Peter Armstrong – Westpower, Mitton ElectroNet
Rebecca Wilson – Transpower

Large Energy User Initiative of the Year
Sponsored by EECA Business
City Rail Link – Carbon footprint measurement and reduction
Dominion Salt and Vector – World first in battery and wind energy solution
Tranzit Group – First fully electric bus

Health and Safety Initiative of the Year
Sponsored by Nexans
Alpine Energy – Health and safety in action
Powerco – The Sparky experience
Vector – OnGas bottle swap plant
Westpower and Mitton ElectroNet – Virtual Reality for site induction training

Energy Technology of the Year
Sponsored by Callaghan Innovation
BP New Zealand – BPMe: The little app redefining the ‘service’ in service stations
emhTrade – Enabling a better power society
Genesis – Energy IQ: Technology that gives customers the control

Women in Energy Award
Sponsored by Mitchell Daysh
Deborah Selby – Electra
Fiona Smith – Trustpower
Professor Robyn Phipps – Massey University

Low Carbon Future Award
Sponsored by BusinessNZ
ChargeNet – Leading the charge
Mevo – Re-designing the way you move
Genesis – The impetus and challenge to create a more renewable NZ

Consumer NZ Energy Retailer of the Year
Sponsored by EDMI

Electric Kiwi
Flick Electric Co.
Editor’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Sector
Sponsored by MB Century
Winner to be announced on the night – 22 August, Cordis Auckland


Content Sourced from
Original url